Who should I contact about the awards program?

Members of the 2017 Awards Committee.















AASLH Representatives
Bethany Hawkins, Chief of Operations, hawkins@aaslh.org

Aja Bain, Program and Publications Coordinator, abain@aaslh.org



Click Here for Contact Information for State/Regional Representatives

National Leadership Team

National Awards Chair:
Nicholas J. Hoffman, Missouri History Center, St. Louis, MO (2017-2019)

Region 1

Regional Chair: Brooke Steinhauser, Emily Dickinson Museum, Amherst, MA

Maine: Julia Gray, Riverside Museum Solutions, Orland, ME

Massachusetts: Jane Becker, University of Massachusetts – Boston, Boston, MA

New Hampshire: Michelle Stahl, Monadnock Center for History and Culture, Peterborough, NH

Vermont: David Simmons, Billings Farm & Museum, Woodstock, VT


Region 2

Regional Chair: Lenora M. Henson, Theodore Roosevelt Inaugural NHS, Buffalo, NY

Connecticut: Laurie Pasteryak Lamarre, Fairfield Museum and History Center, Fairfield, CT

New Jersey: Jason Allen, New Jersey Council for the Humanities, Trenton, NJ

New York: Michele Phillips, The Paper Lab, LLC, Albany, NY

Rhode Island: Ronald Potvin, John Nicholas Brown Center for Public Humanities, Providence, RI


Region 3

Regional Chair: Melinda Meyer, Erie Yesterday, Erie, PA

Delaware: Jeff Durst, Hagley Museum and Library, Wilmington, DE

District of Columbia: Robert A. Enholm, President Woodrow Wilson’s House, Washington, D.C.

Maryland: Lisa Robbins, Historic Annapolis, Annapolis, MD

Pennsylvania: Andrea Glass, University of Delaware, Lancaster, PA


Region 4

Regional Chair: Christy Crisp, Georgia Historical Society, Savannah, GA

Alabama: Laura Caldwell Anderson, Alabama Humanities Foundation, Birmingham, AL

Florida: Contact your regional chair.

Georgia: Matthew S. Davis, Georgia’s Old Governor’s Mansion, Milledgeville, GA


Region 5

Regional Chair: Danielle Petrak, The Royce J. and Caroline B. Watts Museum, West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV

Kentucky: Amanda Higgins, Kentucky Historical Society, Frankfort, KY

North Carolina: Contact your regional chair.

South Carolina: Betsy Kleinfelder, Historic Columbia, Columbia, SC

Virginia: Christina Keyser Vida, Virginia Historical Society, Richmond, VA

West Virginia: Nathan Jones, The Clay Center for Arts and Sciences, Charleston, WV


Region 6

Regional Chair: Jason Crabill, Ohio History Connection, Columbus, OH

Illinois: Debbie Grinnell, Naper Settlement, Naperville, IL

Indiana: Jeannette Rooney, Indiana Historical Society, Indianapolis, IN

Michigan: Suzanne Fischer, Michigan History Center, Lansing, MI

Ohio: Maggie Marconi, Ohio History Connection, Columbus, OH


Region 7

Regional Chair: Ashley Bouknight, The Hermitage, Hermitage, TN

Arkansas: Contact your regional chair.

Louisiana: Lori Boyer, Historic New Orleans Collection, New Orleans, LA

Mississippi: Cheryl Thornhill, Museum of the Mississippi Delta, Greenwood, MS

Tennessee: Adam Alfrey, East Tennessee Historical Society, Knoxville, TN


Region 8

Regional Chair: Andrew Albertson, Museum of Indian Arts and Culture, Santa Fe, NM

New Mexico: Mimi Roberts, New Mexico Association of  Museums and New Mexico Dept. of Cultural Affairs, Santa Fe, NM

Oklahoma: Stacy Moore, Chisholm Trail Heritage Center, Duncan, OK

Texas: Tricia Blakistone, Texas Historical Commission, Austin, TX


Region 9

Regional Chair: Joe Hoover, Minnesota Historical Society, St. Paul, MN

Iowa: Contact your regional chair.

Minnesota: Todd Mahon, Minnesota Historical Society, St. Paul, MN

Wisconsin: Emily Rock, History Museum at the Castle, Appleton, WI


Region 10

Regional Chair: Dr. Jody Sowell, Missouri Historical Museum, St. Louis, MO

Kansas: Contact your regional chair.

Missouri: Daniel Gonzales, St. Louis County Parks, St. Louis, MO

Nebraska: William F. Stoutamire, The Frank House, Kearney, NE


Region 11

Regional Chair: Mark Sundlov, State Historical Society of North Dakota, Bismarck, ND

Colorado: Zebulon Miracle, Gateway Canyons Resort, Gateway, CO

Montana: Debra Mitchell, Montana Historical Society, Helena, MT

North Dakota: Contact your regional chair.

South Dakota: Kevin Gansz, Siouxland Heritage Museum, Sioux Falls, SD

Wyoming: Contact your regional chair.


Region 12

Regional Chair: Brandi Burns, Boise City Department of Arts & History, Boise, ID

Alaska: Ross Coen, Alaska Historical Society, Seattle, WA

Idaho: Dulce L. Kersting, Latah County Historical Society, Moscow, ID

Oregon: Lori Shea Kuechler, Oregon Historical Society, Portland, OR

Washington: Elizabeth P. Stewart, Renton History Museum, Renton, WA


Region 13

Regional Chair: Carmen Blair, San Mateo County Historical Association, Redwood City, CA

California: Carlota F. Haider, Brea, CA; and Karen Holmes, Grace Hudson Museum, Ukiah, CA

Hawaii: Contact your regional chair.


Region 14

Regional Chair: Jody Crago, Chandler Museum, Chandler, AZ

Arizona: Mary Ann Ruelas, Arizona History Museum, Tucson, AZ

Nevada: Crystal R. Van Dee, Nevada State Museum, Las Vegas, NV

Utah: Gary Boatright, Jr., LDS Church Historical Department, Salt Lake City, UT