AASLH accepts nominations as follows:

  • The Award of Merit is presented to recognize excellence for projects (including civic engagement, special projects, educational programs, exhibits, publications, etc.), and individual achievement.
  • The Award of Distinction is given infrequently and only in recognition of long and very distinguished individual service. Recipients are noted for their contributions to the field of state and local history and are recognized nationally as leaders in the profession. To nominate an individual for this award, please contact Trina Nelson Thomas, national awards chair, by February 1.

AASLH selects candidates from the Award of Merit nominations for:

  • The Albert B. Corey Award recognizes primarily volunteer-operated historical organizations that best display the qualities of vigor, scholarship, and imagination in their work. Regional chairs may recommend any primarily volunteer organization that is nominated for the Award of Merit. This is an award made at the discretion of the Awards Committee.
  • The Awards Committee also presents the History in Progress (HIP) Award, a special additional award for an Award of Merit winner whose nomination is highly inspirational, exhibits exceptional scholarship, and/or is exceedingly entrepreneurial in terms of funding, partnerships, or collaborations, creative problem solving, or unusual project design and inclusiveness. This is an award made at the discretion of the Awards Committee.
  • The Michael Kammen Award was first presented in 2015.  Named for the late Pulitzer Prize-winning author and Cornell University’s Newton C. Farr Professor American History and Culture Emeritus, this award is presented to a history institution with an annual budget under $250,000 that has shown outstanding effort. This is an award made at the discretion of the Awards Committee in consultation with the Emeritus Council.